Book Review · Uncategorized

Review | The Replacement

image

Hello starry readers!

I don’t know you but for me eerie, creepy, mysterious book are for the months of September, October & November. (until Thanksgiving, there it starts winter reading. I’m weird I know) So it was appropriate for me to start reading a eerie stand alone I had in my bookshelf that I got not so long ago. I started my eerie reading season with The Replacement.

image

Author: Brenna Yovanoff
Genre: YA, Paranormal, Urban Fantasy, Horror
Release day: September 1, 2011
Pages: 346
Published: Razorbill

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

 

image

Mackie Doyle is not one of us. Though he lives in the small town of Gentry, he comes from a world of tunnels and black murky water, a world of living dead girls rules by a little tattooed princess. He is a Replacement, left in a crib of a human baby sixteen years ago. Now, because of fatal allergies to iron, blood, and consecrated ground, Mackie is fighting to survive in the human world. Mackie would give anything to live among us, to practice on his bass or spend time with his crush, Tate. But when Tate’s baby sister goes missing, Mackie is drawn irrevocably into the underground of Gentry, known as Mayhem. He must face the dark creatures of the Slag Heap and find his rightful place, in our world, or theirs.

 

image

 

When I first got this book from my local bookstore I was exited and intrigued just because it sounded creepy and mysterious, exactly the things that I was looking for to read at the moment.

The story of Mackie as a changeling, mysterious happenings in the town and an other horrific world underneath it would seem like a good recipe for a great book right? But in this one, not so much.

At the beginning of the story I was all for it, fast paced, always turning the page to know more. But for some reason when everything started to happen I was left more confused over the mystery of it all than feeling complete over it.

There we no deep, meaningful reason for the horrendous things there were doing in the underworld and hated the fact that the town throughout all the novel just looked the other side, letting the bad stuff happen and never doing anything about it or to prevent it.

The main characters were flat, boring and honestly at the end I really didn’t care what happened to them. The best characters in this story is Emma & Roswell. They, as sister and best friend of our main character where one of the main reasons the book can get some good points.

Have to say that I loved the music scenes in this book. It was like magic. Loved the reference of real bands and the way the concert scene was written, I felt I was in the club watching a rock band play with all they might. I’m a sucker for novels that involves music (I’m a music junkie) so I really appreciate the music stuff that was written in this.

 

image

image

Overall I rate The Replacement 3/5 stars. The concept was great, awesome secondary characters and magically music scenes. This was my first Brenna Yovanoff book I have read, even if it wasn’t as satisfying as I wanted it to be, I will be reading her other eerie and mysterious books she has out. I’m just a sucker for those.

image

Have you read this book before? Read any Brenna Yovanoff book that you liked? Let’s talk about it.

image

6 thoughts on “Review | The Replacement

  1. Great review! That cover looks all kinds of creepy, and the synopsis too! I’m sad to hear that you didn’t end up loving it as much as you hoped to but oh well, let’s hope that your next dark read on the next few months is creepier and better! 💜

    Like

Leave a Reply

