Author Interview · Uncategorized

Author Interview | Loren Kleinman

image

Hello starry readers!

Today I have a treat for you. A couple of weeks ago a was contacted by Loren Kleinman to review her book, This Way to Forever, in my blog. Read the review HERE. After that I was so blown away by the book and she was such a nice person to be contacted with, that I asked her for an author interview so can my readers know a little more about her. She gladly accepted.

Please meet Loren Kleinman.

 

image

image

Loren Kleinman’s poetry has appeared in journals such as Drunken Boat, Nimrod, Wilderness House Literary Review, Paterson Literary Review, Narrative Northeast, and Journal of New Jersey Poets.
Her interviews has appeared in IndieReader, USA Today, and The Huffington Post. She edited Indie Authors Naked, which was an Amazon Top 100 Bestseller in Journalism in the UK and USA.
Kleinman is the author of four collection of poetry and her memoir, The Woman with a Million Hearts, which released in 2016 with BlazeVOX Books.
She also blogs for The Mix (Hearst), where she publishes personal essays in Good Housekeeping, Cosmopolitan, Redbook, Seventeen and Woman’s Day.
This Way to Forever is her first novel.

 

image

1. When did you start writing?

I remember that I started writing stories when I was around 7 or 8 years old. My mother would always buy me lots of children’s books and I would copy the words from the books and try to make my own stories out of them. I always had a creative spirit, and I was always day dreaming. I remember the first real story I wrote on my own was a story about a psychic detective that was able to speak with the killers he was tracking with his mind.

2. What inspires you to write?

Everything. I daydream a lot. I look at objects or people and wonder what the back stories are. One recent story I wrote was about turning into an earthworm, and associated adventures.

3. Do you have any process while writing?

I tend to outline first for non-fiction and fiction, and then start writing once I iron out the outline. I rely on some amazing editors and beta readers to tell me any areas I should consider revising. But typically, I trust my gut and I always want to tell the story I want to tell. I try to stay true to my own vision.

4. This Way to Forever is your first fiction novel, what is the inspiration behind it?

The novel was actually inspired by true events. I had a long romance with a European man for more than 8 years. It was way more involved than that described in the novel, but I wanted to capture the insecurity of being in your 20s. It’s a good thing because you need to have those moments of complete exploration and wildness to begin to learn more about your becoming.

5. One of my favorite characters in This Way to Forever is Mitchell. Who was your favorite character to write?

He was inspired by my real-life best friend. He still encourages me to focus on my art. We’ve been friends for more than 15 years. My only regret is that I didn’t include him in more scenes.

6. Where any of the characters inspired by real people?

Yes, many of them, or they were inspired by many people. Ethan is a mixture of past and current male friends, and Tad is sort of this mixture of the many men I dated in my 20s.

7. You have published poetry before, what is it about?

I write a lot about love, especially how love is reflected in the world and projected by ourselves.

8. Who are some of your favorite poets?

I’m a huge Charles Bukowski fan. I’ve read every book I could get my hands on. He’s completely raw and writes poetry in a way that’s not condescending to the reader. I don’t want to feel “dumb” when I read poetry. I want to be able to say to myself, “damn, I feel like you’re writing about me.”

9. What is easier to write; fiction or poetry?

I don’t think one is easier than the other, but I do feel that poetry is very difficult to write just because you have less of the line to work with. Fiction you can map out, develop over and throughout the pages, but poetry has got to serve the story in the first few lines, and is very reliant on building images, on showing…even more so than fiction.

10. What can you tell us about your memoir The Woman with a Million Hearts?

This is a memoir that is both self-deprecating and a powerful declaration of self. It’s about my own experiences with love, sex, and how we are many different versions of ourselves throughout our lives.

11. Any projects you are working at the moment?

Right now I’m working on a project called My Body, My Words, which is a collection of short essays about the body, specifically body image.

12. What books have you read recently?

The latest book I read was A Season in Hell by Arthur Rimbaud. Powerful. Must read.

image

 

Follow Loren Kleinman: Website | Twitter | Book Blog

You can get the Kindle version of This Way to Forever for only $0.99 on Amazon HERE.

image

One thought on “Author Interview | Loren Kleinman

Leave a Reply

