Book List · SCR Recommends · Uncategorized

SCR Recommends | This Song Will Save Your Life

image

Hello starry readers!

Last year I decided to read a book that had been in my shelves for quite a while. That book was, This Song Will Save Your Life by Leila Sales. When I first heard about this book I was instantly drawn to it. I’m a sucker for music books and myself been the music lover that I am, I knew I need to get and read this book.

While reading it and then when I finished it I was so happy that I did. Haven’t known about the book while watching booktube or reading book blogs I felt I had discovered a gem that everyone should read. One of the most realistic portrayal of a teenager struggles for acceptance in high school I have read in a long time. Because It has stuck with me and holds a special place in my heart I have to share it with all of you.

In this post I give you a couple of reasons why you should read This Song Will Save Your Life by Leila Sales

image

Author: Leila Sales
Genre: YA, Contemporary, Music, Coming of Age
Released: September 17, 2013
Pages: 288
Published by: Farrar, Straus & Giroux (BYR)

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

image

Making friends has never been Elise Dembowski’s strong suit. All throughout her life, she’s been the butt of every joke and the outsider in every conversation. When a final attempt at popularity fails, Elise nearly gives up. Then she stumbles upon a warehouse party where she meets Vicky, a girl in a band who accepts her; Char, a cute, yet mysterious disc jockey; Pippa, a carefree spirit from England; and most importantly, a love for DJing. Told in a refreshing genuine and laugh-out-loud funny voice, This Song Will Save Your Life is an exuberant novel about identity, friendship, and the power of music to bring people together.

image

1. Music

Once Elise finds about this underground warehouse nightclub, music takes center stage in the story, mostly DJing. Elise new found love for the art of is something very encouraging for the reader. She stops at nothing to learn and be the very best she can be in the craft. It’s very inspirational the way she gets into the art of DJing, how she looses herself in the music to satisfy not only the people in the crowd, but also herself. She finally finds something that makes her want to belong in the world and be accepted by her peers. For those who have read, or hopefully decide to read it after this, you will feel so inspired to go after your own dreams. To go after that one thing that will make you feel complete and part of this beautiful life.

“I was smiling like a crazy person because I had just made a hundred people dance, I had just made a hundred people scream, I had just made a hundred people happy”

2. Relatable main character

Elise is one of the most relatable main character I have read in a long time. Her insecurities, longing for acceptance and sense of belonging is something that hit too close to home for me. I felt identified by her struggle & her motivation to find herself and feel comfortable with her surroundings. Even when she is struggling to fit in she knows who she is and never looses track of it. In spite of some of the negative stuff that has happened in her life, she somehow, keeps moving forward with a positive attitude. Elise is every single girl in the world that is hungry to live and love while struggling to become someone of herself. She is all of us.

“I was giving up. But sometimes you have to give up something you are to get to who you want to be”

3. Mystery

In this novel one of the surprising things in it is that there is a little mystery in the story. Elise is being cyber bullied by someone in her school saying lies about her, making it sound like is Elise herself who is the one saying those mean things on the web. Is a total mystery on who is the actual person in her school that is the owner and writer of the website.

“Tonight the internet seemed filled with versions of me, like a fun house filled with mirrors. Some of them made me look prettier, and some of them made me look uglier, and some of them chopped me right in half, but none of them were right”

4. Friends

From the start you know that Elise main struggle is to make friends, to not feel alone. Once she meets Vicky and Pippa you know that something good is about to happen in Elise life. They are the kind of colorful friends you would love to have. They bring another batch of relatable characters into the story. They with their own struggles, personal issues and just beautiful personalities will make you want to keep turning the page. Also I wouldn’t mind a Vicky and Pippa companion book.

“It was a very small compliment, but it came from someone who mattered, about something that mattered”

5. Family

It was really refreshing to read about a very loving and supportive parents. The fact that they are divorced and her mother has remarried with kids it wasn’t something that divided Elise love and attention between them. It wasn’t one of bickering between the two, they divided the time spent together with Elise based on fairness for the two of them. It was the type of chemistry between the divorced parents that I would like to see in real life, one of love and respect for the kids. The relationship Elise has with her siblings is a lovely one. The way she, in her own way, cares for her little sister and protects her against the harsh things life will eventually bring to her, protects her against her own innocence in such a short age and the way her little sister looks up to Elise, fills your heart in such a way that you would want to go to your sister and show her all your love or if you don’t have a sister, it will make you want to have one.

“Sometimes people think they know you. They know a few facts about you, and they piece you together in a way that makes sense to them. And if you don’t know yourself very well, you might even believe that they are right. But the truth is, that isn’t you. That isn’t you at all.”

6. True & Real

I know for a fact that the moment you start reading it will be very difficult, nearly impossible, to put it down. If you had ever felt that you just don’t belong and that at a certain point in your life your insecurities gets the best of you, this is the book for you. It shows in reality how cruel kids can be to people they find as “not normal”. How, after going through stuff that makes you feel down and other things to your own self, you can see the beauty of life and how you can open up to discover things that you once thought you lost and how you can embrace yourself and accept yourself, no matter how other people say or do. Leila Sales writing is fresh, captivating and full of positivity, it will make you want to keep reading nonstop. There is romance in the story but it’s not the main focus for the main character, it’s not something that defines her. This books will stick with you the moment you finish it. I can’t stretch more the fact that you need to read this book, just do it!

“I had this feeling suddenly. I get this feeling a lot, but I don’t know if there’s one word for it. It’s not nervous or sad or even lonely. It’s a lot of that, and then a bit more. The feeling is, I don’t belong here. I don’t know how I got here, and I don’t know how long I can stay before everyone else realizes that I’m an impostor. I am a fraud. I’ve gotten this feeling nearly everywhere I have ever been in my life. There’s nothing you can do about it except drink some water and hope that it subsides. Or you can leave.”

image

Thanks for reading. Let me know if you have read This Song Will Save Your Life or any other Leila Sales books.

image

Leave a Reply

